A State-by-State Guide on Payday Loans

The laws on short term loans differ across the United States. To help avoid confusion, PaydayLoansOnline.net has compiled a table for consumers to use as a handy reference. The table also details minimum and maximum loan terms and total interest/fee charges in each state.
Simply look down the left-hand column to find your state and discover all the information you need to know.
The following information is correct as of March 12th 2013:

StateAre Short Term Loans Permitted?Maximum Loan AmountMinimum/Maximum Length of LoanMaximum Fees and Charges
StateAre Short Term Loans Permitted?Maximum Loan AmountMinimum/Maximum Length of LoanMaximum Fees and Charges
AlabamaYes$500Minimum 10 days. Maximum 31 days 17.5%
AlaskaYes$500Maximum 14 daysWhichever is less of the following: - $5; - $15 for each $100 of a loan; - 15% of the total amount of the loan.
ArkansasNo
ArizonaNo
CaliforniaYes$300Maximum 31 days.15% on cashed check.
ColoradoYes$500 per consumerMinimum 6 months. No Maximum.- 20% of the first $300 loaned plus 7.5% of any loan amount more than $300. - 45% per annum for each loan. - If the loan is repaid before the end of the loan term, the lender must refund to the consumer a prorated portion of the annual percentage rate. - Monthly maintenance fee for each outstanding loan, of a maximum $7.50 per $100 loaned, up to $30 per month.
ConnecticutNo
Delaware Yes$1,000 Maximum 60 days.
District of ColumbiaNo
FloridaYes$500 Minimum 7 days. Maximum 31 days 10% fee of the amount borrowed plus identification fee.
GeorgiaNo
HawaiiYes$600Maximum 32 days15% on cashed check.
IdahoYes$1,000
Illinois Yes$1,000 or 25% of consumer's gross monthly income.Minimum 13 days. Maximum 120 days. $15.50 fee per $100 loaned when loan term is passed.
IndianaYesMinimum $50. Maximum $550 Minimum 14 days.- 15% on first $250 of loan. - 13% above $250 to $400. - 10% above $400 to $500.
IowaYes$500 Maximum 31 days.- 15% on first $100 of loan. - $10 on every additional $100 borrowed.
KansasYes$500Minimum 7 days. Maximum 30 days.- 15% of the loan. - Contract rate of 3% per month of the loan. - No other charges allowed except for returned check fees.
KentuckyYes$500 from maximum two payday loans.Maximum 60 days.- $15 service fee per $100 on the face amount of a deferred deposit check.
LouisianaYes$350Maximum 30 days.- 16% of the face amount of loan.
Maine YesNoneNone- Maximum $15 fee on a loan of $250
MarylandNo
Massachusetts No
Michigan Yes$600 Maximum 31 days.- 15% of the first $100 borrowed. - 14% of the second $100 borrowed. - 13% of the third $100 borrowed. - 12% of the fourth $100 borrowed. - 11% of the fifth $100 borrowed. - 11% of the sixth $100 borrowed.
MinnesotaYes$350Maximum 30 days- $5.50 on loan of up to $50. - 10% of loan plus $5 administrative fee for loans of $50 to $100. - 7% of loan plus $5 administrative fee for loan of $100 to $250. - 6% of loan with minimum fee of $17.50 plus $5 administrative fee for loans of $250 to $350. - Contract rate of maximum 2.75% per month for outstanding loan.
MississippiYes$500 total inclusive of fees.$250 for a maximum of 30 days. $251 - $500 for a minimum of 28 days and a maximum of 30 days. - 3% on check or $5, whichever is greater for state, federal government issued checks. - 10% on check or $5, whichever is greater, for personal checks; or - 5% on check or $5, whichever is greater for all other checks or money orders. - For a check cashed up to $250, $20 per $100. - For a check cashed from $251 - $500, $21.95 per $100.
MissouriYes$500 Minimum 14 days. Maximum 31 days. 75%
MontanaYesMinimum $50. Maximum $300. 36% plus any insufficient funds fee for returned check.
NebraskaYes$500 Maximum 34 days.$15 per $100.
NevadaYesMaximum 25% percent of the expected gross monthly income of the customer.
New HampshireYes$500Minimum 7 days. Maximum 30 days. - 6% interest per year on payday loan. - Maximum 36% APR on a payday loan.
New JerseyNo
New MexicoYesMaximum loan and fees to 25% of consumer’s gross monthly income.Minimum 14 days. Maximum 35 days. - $15.50 administrative fee per $100 borrowed. - Additional verification fee of 50 cents.
New YorkNo
North CarolinaNo
North DakotaYes$500 No more than $600 outstanding in aggregate loans at any one time. Minimum 15 days. Maximum 60 days. - 20% of amount paid to customer. - Database registration fee.
OhioYes$500Minimum 31 days.28%
OklahomaYes$500 Minimum 12 days. Maximum 45 days. - $15 for every $100 up to the first $300. - For loans of more than $300, maximum additional charge of $10 for every $100.
Oregon YesNone Minimum 31 days. Maximum 60 days. - 36% APR one-off origination fee for a new loan. - Maximum origination fee: $10 per $100 of loan or $30, whichever is less.
PennsylvaniaNo
Rhode IslandYes$500Minimum 13 days.- 3% of the amount on check or $5, whichever is greater, if the check is from any kind of state public assistance or federal social security benefit. - For personal checks, 10% of the amount on the check or $5, whichever is greater; or - For all other checks, 5% of the amount on the check; or $5, whichever is greater. - No fees can be in excess of 10% of the amount.
South CarolinaYes.$550 Maximum 31 days.Maximum fees 15%.
South DakotaYes$500
TennesseeYes$500Maximum 31 days.Maximum administrative fee of 15%.
Texas YesMinimum 7 days.
UtahYesMaximum 12 weeks.
VermontNo
VirginiaYes$500Minimum of double the borrower’s pay cycle.- 36% APR interest. - Loan fee of 20% of amount - $5 verification fee.
West VirginiaNo
WisconsinYesNo outstanding aggregate payday loan debt of more than $1,500 or 35% of their gross monthly income, whichever is less.- Unlimited interest. - 2.75% per month can be charged after the repayment date.
WyomingYesNoneMaximum 1 month.$30 or 20%.

** The information on this table is provided for educational or information purposes only; it is not intended to be a substitute for professional advice, legal advice, or otherwise.